Mavic Air 2 (Pre) Review & Specs Banner Image

Mavic Air 2 (Pre) Review & Specs

Publish Date:
Apr 27, 2020
Categories:
Research

  • 4K 60fps video, 48MP Panos
  • APAS 3.0 Obstacle Avoidance
  • 1/2-inch Image Sensor Size
  • 34-Min Flight Time
  • Occusync 2 & Smart Controller Compatible

This is a pre-review, I have placed my order the day the drone was released and I'm currently waiting on the shipment or using the drone to create a review about the drone.

I'd like to know what questions you have about the Mavic Air 2!

Join our Facebook Community and let me know what videos you'd like me to make for our YouTube channel!

All info below is based on the specs from the official release.

Mavic Air 2 General Info
Release Date Apr 27, 2020
Launch Pricing $799
View Current
Accessories

ND Filters, Propellers, DJI Care, Etc.

Case Included?

In fly more combo

Mavic Air 2 Drone Specs
Weight 570 g
Size Folded: 180×97×84 mm (Length×Width×Height) Unfolded: 183×253×77 mm (Length×Width×Height)
Firmware Update Method

You can use your internet connected computer, phone or tablet with the provided USB to micro USB adapter.

In The Box

Included in the Mavic Air 2

  • Aircraft
  • Remote Controller
  • Intelligent Flight Battery
  • Battery Charger
  • AC Power Cable
  • Low-Noise Propellers (Pair)
  • RC Cable (USB Type-C Connector)
  • RC Cable (Lightning Connector)
  • RC Cable (Standard Micro-USB Connector)
  • Gimbal Protector
  • Type-C Cable
  • Pair of Spare Control Sticks

Included in the Mavic Air 2 Fly More

  • ND Filters Set (ND16/64/256)
  • Battery Charging Hub
  • Battery to Power Bank Adaptor
  • Shoulder Bag
Mavic Air 2 Flying Specs
Battery Life 34 Minutes
Flight Range 18.5 km
Max Speed
Satellite Positioning Systems GPS+GLONASS
Obstacle Avoidance Left, right, forward, backward, downward
Return To Home Yes
Flight Modes
  • ActiveTrack 3.0
  • Point of Interest 3.0 (POI)
  • Spotlight 2.0
  • QuickShots
  • Hyperlapse
Operating Frequency 2.4-5.8 GHz
Video Transmission OcuSync 2.0
Landing Gear Yes, Fixed. Can purchase extended landing gear from 3rd party.
Compatible Video Devices
Mavic Air 2 Camera Specs
Lens FOV: 84°, Equivalent 35mm Focal Length: 24 mm
Sensor Size 1/2" CMOS
Media Storage Method MicroSD
Filters
Gimbal Stabilization 3-axis (tilt, roll, pan)
ISO Video: 100-6400 | Photo: 100-3200 (Auto) 100-6400 (Manual)
Aperature f/2.8
Shutter Speed Electronic Shutter: 8–1/8000s
Image Size
  • Vertical: 3328×8000 pixels
  • Wide: 8000×6144 pixels
  • Sphere: 8192×4096 pixels
Photo Modes
  • Single
  • Burst
  • Automatic Exposure Bracketing (AEB)
  • Timed
  • SmartPhoto: Scene Recognition, HyperLight, and HDR
  • HDR Panorama
Photo Formats

JPEG/DNG (RAW)

Video Codec

MP4/MOV (H.264/MPEG-4 AVC, H.265/HEVC)

Video Recording Resolution
  • 4K Ultra HD: 3840×2160 24/25/30/48/50/60 fps
  • 2.7K: 2688×1512 24/25/30/48/50/60 fps
  • FHD: 1920×1080 24/25/30/48/50/60/120/240 fps
  • 4K Ultra HD HDR: 3840×2160 24/25/30 fps
  • 2.7K HDR: 2688×1512 24/25/30 fps
  • FHD HDR: 1920×1080 24/25/30 fps
Zoom Capabilities

Does not zoom

Other Notable Camera Features
  • Max Bitrate: 120 Mbps
App DJI Fly

Post Categories:
About the Author:

Keith Knittel

I'm a designer from Cleveland, Ohio and love to shoot photos & videos. I made my first website in 2004 to show friends photos & videos (before YouTube/Flickr were things) and have been shooting and designing ever since! I have a deep passion for making and helping others create.

Free Mavic Mini Getting Started Course

  • Preflight Checklist PDF
  • Free Color Grade LUT Pack
  • Top 10 Tips & Tricks

Free Mavic 2 Pro Getting Started Course

  • Preflight Checklist PDF
  • Question and Answer Videos
  • Get up and running quickly

Drone Courses, Community Membership & File Downloads

Shoot Inspiring Images & Connect With Other Students

Drone Training Courses

Learn the entrie process of flying, shooting, editing and sharing.

Learn the do's and dont's, as well as common pilot mistakes and how to fix them.

Private Community Membership

Our privately hosted drone community offers a place to post your work, ask questions and talk to your classmates and your instructor, me!

All skill levels welcome, from beginners to advanced pilots.

Updated Monthly

Drones and technology move pretty quickly. I will add more lessons to the courses every month and update lessons as new information becomes available.

Free Video Courses & Preflight Checklists

Beginner Guides for Specific Drones

Getting Started Guides

Answer common questions and get tips and tricks for your specific drone.

Preflight Checklists

Ensure you're flying safely and have a consistent plan with a preflight checklist. Use these lists to fly safely and not forget anything before and during flight.

Free Courses & Guides
Mavic Mini Mavic 2 Pro/Zoom